The College of Pharmacy was established in 1959 (1379 H), two years after the foundation of King Saud University (Formerly named as Riyadh University). A four- year pharmacy curriculum was adopted, with an enrollment of seventeen students in the first year, who commenced their studies under the guidance of three faculty members in four departments, namely, Pharmaceutics, Pharmacology, Pharmacognosy and Pharmaceutical Chemistry. By the first semester of 1979-1980 (1399-1400 H), there were 35 faculty members and more than 350 students enrolled in a five-year program. This academic year witnessed the establishment of the Department of Clinical Pharmacy as the fifth department of the college. Since its foundation, the College of Pharmacy is continuously updating its curriculum, to keep pace with the rapidly evolving pharmacy profession. In 1975 (1395 H), new patient oriented courses were introduced, while in 1979 (1399 H) a new curriculum emphasizing the pharmacist’s role in patient care was adopted, encompassing the expansion in clinical pharmacy and other supporting courses. (more…)